Courtesy and compassion

20140614-042123-15683053.jpg
Image source: Ernie Pinard’s Mindset Daily

My parents have taught me many things in life, but one of the most valuable things that they have imparted to me is an awareness about others who are around me. Another way of describing this would be to call this common courtesy, compassion or empathy.

It may not seem like to most useful of life skills, but having compassion towards others or at the very least some degree of regard for them as you encounter them in every day life really can have an impact on the way your life turns out.

For the most part, I’d say my parents are in a totally different league when it comes to such things. I don’t think they would even flinch in the slightest bit when presented with an opportunity to connect or help another person. It does not matter whether the person in question is in fact a stranger or a friend, I believe my parents would help them nonetheless.

For me, I must admit that I do often harbour a certain level of skepticism and distrust towards the general public. So I hold back now and then. But I’m still doing my level best not to descent into utter cynicism in this respect. I want to continue to do good.

It’s hard sometimes though, especially when not everyone appreciates it or even acknowledges that they need your help.

But from what I’ve seen from the lives of my parents, it usually pay offs in the long run.

You can lose every other thing you have in life, be it intellect, skills or even possessions, but if you still have a sense of common courtesy and a heart of compassion, you can survive.

Not only that, I believe you can actually thrive too. That to me is true resilience – the ability to look at the world around you and realise that relationships are worth fighting for above all else.

I sincerely hope I’ll never tire of being the nice person. The one whose heart is warm enough enough step aside and let others go ahead of me because gaining prominence doesn’t really mean as much as society may think.

The world, after all, doesn’t revolve around me. And the path to true happiness lies in the concept of social inclusion, not isolation.

Leave a Reply

