Courage

Image source: First Alliance Orlando

How do you know when God is saying something to you personally? When you hear/read/see the same thing multiple times. Well, at least that’s how it works for me. 

My life is currently in a state of flux. Having given birth to Jamie, my daily schedule has now been altered beyond recognition. Not to mention the fact that I have also quit my full time job (more on that in another post, I promise). 

So as it is with every time a season of change hits me in life, there is that lingering sense of uncertainty and the propensity to worry. 

But what’s assuring is that somehow God manages to always break through the noise that surrounds me and provides me with  unexpected clarity to help me with that next step forward. 

This season was no exception. 

The following verse first came to my attention in a Bible reading session I had with my son: 

Have I not commanded you? 

Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” 

– Joshua‬ ‭1‬:‭9‬ (NKJV)

It again came to my attention while Jamie and I were listening to the K-Love radio station during one of my breastfeeding sessions with him. 

Then, my mother quoted the very same Bible verse in a string of Whatsapp messages she sent to me encouraging me about my future career direction. 

So that’s three times as it was. But that wasn’t the end of it. 

On 29th June, I picked up Our Daily Journey to do my Quiet Time (QT), only to notice the following on the cover of the current issue: 

image

Then, as if for good measure, God decided why not send me the same message one more time. 

Hence, when I opened that day’s QT reading, this was what I saw: 

image

And so, ladies and gents, there is now no shadow of doubt left in me now that Joshua 1:9 is the Bible verse that God has intended me to take to heart during this new season of my life. 

Amazing, isn’t it? 

I’ve always believed there are no coincidences in life, and this is yet another real life example that this is indeed true in my own personal journey. 

What does it mean to have my attention directed to this verse in particular? 

It just means that I have to be unafraid as I journey on to whatever He has planned for me up ahead as a new parent and a newly unemployed journalist. 

That I shouldn’t worry about whether I’ll have work waiting for me at the end of my paid maternity leave because God always provides. 

Also, that I shouldn’t fret about the change in dynamics in our life at home, and in my relationship with my husband, Deric as we embark on the long term goal of raising Jamie. 

And most of all, that my choice to exit the career (journalism) that I’ve come to love and have built up over the past 4-5 years is in fact the right one at this point in time. 

Thank You Jesus for showing me in discreet but clear ways the way ahead. I will not be afraid. 

Leave a Reply

